all you need is jiujitsu*

*or the ramblings of a white belt who has (just) returned to the mats

details. it’s all in the details, he (my coach) says.

while i listen, i’m thinking i’m doomed. but, what the heck, let me give this another try. there is a reason i came back after all (i almost quit before my seventh session; this is my ninth, after a six-month break). and why even if the terms and the movements confuse me to this day, even if my body feels like it has been stretched in three different places at the same time the next day, and even if my wild curly hair goes even wilder with every drill and roll, i have stayed.

because today, much like most days the past few weeks, i needed something stronger than my usual caffeine fix.

key points of control. reverse dela riva. x-guard. foot lock.

in my head i automatically break it down into skills that are more familiar to me – body scheme, motor planning, speed, endurance, grip strength, core stability – when i know i should be analyzing movement instead (as luck would have it, kinesiology was not my best subject in college). relying on engrams in the meantime.

humming to the song “bilanggo” (about your heart being jailed to somebody’s) while doing reps. which seems to be apt at this point (in my case, to this thing called BJJ).

he tells me something along the lines of having a strong core, much to his surprise and mine (this moment almost made it to my one-of-the-best-things-that-has-ever-happened-to-me list). the hubby allows me to try an arm bar on him (another one that almost made it to the previous list. however, had i known that on the way back home he’d tell me he has high expectations from me in this sport, i would have tried to choke him instead). i practice a sweep and marvel how leverage (technique not strength) works. every. single. time.

and so, yes, i have to agree. it’s all in the little details 😉

2 thoughts on “all you need is jiujitsu*

Leave a Reply

